Score your own free
diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2019-07-11 - 11:06 am

Dear readers-

Note to self: next time I go to the food bank, I'm bringing my shopping cart.

I'm convinced the people who run things, social services-wise, make things deliberately difficult to ensure that the lazy people give up.

For instance, food stamps. Apparently, the food stamps I was given was only supposed to be for two months, under the assumption that that's enough time to find a job, especially when you don't have a high school diploma or a GED.

LOL

I had to reapply for them, only to discover that my getting them was depending on me having to either log in once a day to Employ Florida or physically take two busses to get there. I got denied.

I lost my phone and can't afford a new one, and getting an Obama phone is dependent on-surprise!-me being on food stamps. And, of course, it's a pain in the ass to get a job without a phone. It's possible, it's just harder.

I had to skip the job program today to go to the nearest food bank. Not thinking, I didn't bring my shopping cart (not the kind they have in the stores, the kind old people . They gave me a bag of food, but, unfortunately, it came in one of those brown paper bags that have no handles. Great. Now I have to carry a big, heavy bag home.

Today is also inspection day at the home. My understanding is that where I live is kind of a boarding house of some kind for poor people, where you can stay as long as you can pay rent. Claudia, the landlady, apparently has a whole bunch of these places. For some reason, she has to let inspectors in today, a fact which probably explains why yesterday I had come home to find her not only cleaning up but also, she had installed all this fancy shit in the living room. There's now a wall clock, some fancy heart-shaped mirrors, the fridge has been cleaned out (with the food rearranged). For some reason they need to go into my room for some reason-I hope it's to check the fire alarm system-so she asked me to clean up around my room. I picked things up, hope they don't judge me on my whip collection.

I'm at McDonald's now, just taking a break before I go home. Piece of advice: as long as you're not being disruptive, the fast food places don't give a shit if you camp there. Maybe I'll fill up my water cup a little more before I leave.

-psyche

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!