Score your own free
diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2019-10-14 - 4:33 pm

Dear readers:

I am now officially in Burckle Place as of about four or five hours ago.

It seems I didn't pare down my stuff enough because it seems I am not allowed to bring my sheets or pillows. My own toiletries, too. My crate of books I had with me I had to pare down to a few well-loved things I can put in a closet. They made me wash my clothes first thing (I'm told it's the policy; I assume to thwart bedbugs or something, probably also why the laundry room is in a separate building behind the house).

There's a cleaning rota, and I'm expected to be a part of it. Among those things I will be expected to do with another person is cook dinner, served at five, fortunately not this week. Breakfast and dinner I'll be on my own. Oh, and I get my own bin in both the pantry and in the fridge with my name on it

Monday through Friday, I will be required to get up at five forty-five for a group meeting, no exceptions.

There are volunteers who come in and teach classes-according to my schedule, it will be a fitness/self-defense class today-and most of them are optional.

My new roommates are all so...overeager to help me, so eager to jump in and be helpful that sometimes it's a bit much.

But, on the good side: there's more than one bathroom and I'm told I can get a free bus pass.

-psyche

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!