Score your own free
diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2020-08-14 - 5:11 pm

Dear readers:

We had a bit of a scare at Burckle Place last night.

For context, one of our new girls, Brittany, has epilepsy. She just started working at the Dunkin Doughnuts across the street from our dysfunctional little home, working from six in the morning to two in the afternoon. Apparently, this was too much physical activity for her condition, because she went to take a nap and locked the door. Donna, her roommate (another newbie) forgot her key and apparently realized after ten minutes of fruitless pounding on the door that she wasn't asleep, she had an episode.

Long story short, after calling our wardens-I mean, peer group counselors-Paula managed to find the spare key and let her in while Tiffany called 911. EMTs came, checked to see if she was ok. After Brittany declined medical treatment, they left.

Valerie left months ago, to go to another TLP-run house. We threw a celebration.

Donna, I have literally only known for about a couple of weeks and I want to smack her. She's apparently blind in one eye, and has already pissed the entire house off, including me, by using her partial blindness as a reason to get people to do things for her. Other than that, she's a very sweet person. I bitched about it to Kathy, who reminded me that I wasn't one to talk, that I was guilty of doing pretty much the same to her.

I got a letter from Palm Tran Connections granting me permission to use their service, which is our local bus system's service for those who are unable to use their regular services, like myself. I promised Kathy that my first trip would be to visit Mom, so that's what I'm doing. I called them up to plan a Sunday trip-you have to book them in advance-on the hopes that if it turns out I can't still visit because of Covid, I can cancel no problem.

This is going to be difficult, but I think I can manage.

-psyche

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!