Score your own free
diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2021-10-22 - 9:42 am

Dear readers:

I lost my job after two weeks. Why, you ask?

Because I was expected to be an expert at the job after two fucking weeks. And only working three days a week.

A job where I worked in the kitchen of the tiny cafe of the place I'm getting help for getting a job from.

Let me explain: the Voc Rehab people's job was basically to facilitate getting me help elsewhere. I chose the people who handle the mentally and physically ill because it's literally a forty-minute bus ride from my apartment (I attempted to ride my bike the route I'd take to this place-lots of hills. Nope!)

This place has a cafe open only to the clients of this place. Students worked in the cafe in a scheme similar to the apprenticeship I had with Joshua Thrift, where the students learn a trade and get paid a small amount. They had me working Monday through Wednesday, eight-thirty to one-fifteen. There were two cooks, Kirsten and Dotty, who did all the cooking. Me and the other students helped around the kitchen. One of our jobs was that from eleven-thirty to noon, we'd deliver lunch to the clients in various buildings around this place.

Did I mention this place was made up of quite a few buildings? One place, the clients did arts and crafts. The other was for seniors, another for teens, you get the idea. And they are all with alphabet names like A, B and C.

On Wednesday, I got word that I have one more week to go, and then I'm done.

Dammit.

-psyche

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!