Score your own free
diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2023-08-06 - 8:30 pm

Dear readers,

As of tomorrow, I will be starting my second week at my new job.

I haven't told you until now because I've learned it's bad luck for me to go on about something until I know if it's going to succeed, but it has.

I am now working at a Goodwill, one of the outlets (where all the stuff that doesn't sell at the regular Goodwill stores go). Not in the retail part, the warehouse part (this place is in two parts, one the outlet part, one the warehouse), specifically the e-commerce section (a lot of thrift stores will sell their expensive shit online, Joshua Thrift had an EBay store). They have this whole deal on the website where they basically sell a box of random jewelry, the idea being that you don't buy this stuff to *wear*, it's marketed to people who want to upcycle this stuff for other uses. My job is to don a pair of gloves (because there are some earrings in there, the gloves are meant to keep you from getting repeatedly stabbed in the hand) grab a handful of jewelry from a giant bin and dump six pounds of jewelry into a cardboard box, weigh it on a scale to make sure it's six pounds (if not, I take some until it's six pounds), tape it up and put it on to a stack to be sent out. I do this from nine to two, Monday through Friday.

Only two things that I hate about the place is the commute and the lack of a lunch break. The #61, which takes me to my job, only comes every hour, so that means I end up having to get to the bus that comes at seven thirty. Before you ask why I don't just take the bus at eight...it doesn't work that way. For some reason, this particular bus comes every hour on the thirty minute mark. I *could* take the bus at eight-thirty, but that would mean I'd only get there fifteen minutes before the day starts and I have a habit of coming to wherever I'm working at a half-hour early to read my Kindle to relax, maybe go on the internet a bit to start my day. Fifteen minutes isn't enough time to do that for me.

As for why I don't have a lunch break, it's because my hours are part-time and legally, lunch breaks are unpaid. If I got a lunch break, I'd only be working four and a half hours (part time is twenty-five to thirty hours a week, which means five hours every day). I *do* get a ten-minute break, try to stuff as much food in me as I can (not an easy task as I'm not the kind of person who can scarf a sandwich down in seconds, and I can't keep spending money at the local gas station convenience store a few feet away to buy a beef jerky and a cheese stick).


Good news is, they'll pay me a steady wage for constant work, instead of that downtime bullshit, and it's direct deposit, not a paper check (yes, I know many banks have a thing on their apps where you can photograph your check and they deposit it into your bank account, but if you deposit it directly into an ATM, you don't have to wait until the next day for the check to clear). As a part time employee, I can sign up for health insurance if I wanted to. I haven't got my first paycheck yet, but I know exactly what I'll be reporting to the SS office every month. And, as an added bonus, I don't have to be there for those stupid fucking meetings!

Speaking of BP, we have construction going on. For some reason, we have to have all the windows in the house replaced and, since most of us live on the second floor, we obviously can't be there while they work on them. The mess and noise these fuckers make is astounding. They work from eight to about six in the evening, and if I'm home during those hours, I will be stuck in the living room with my other housemates, listening to a bunch of sawing. I can't wait for it to finally be over.

-psyche

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!