Score your own free
diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2019-12-08 - 1:41 pm

Dear readers:

Yesterday, one of the volunteers paid for admission for four of us at Burckle Place to go to the Morikami Museum.

For those of you who don't live in Florida, this is a Big Deal. The story goes that prior to World War II, there was a *huge* Japanese colony in Boca Raton that pretty much failed after of its residents were all picked up and dropped into the internment camps. The founder of the Morikami built a small museum devoted to Japanese culture-surrounded by a vast Japanese-style garden accessible through a trail-from a portion of the land where the colony was.

It's about $15 for adults to get in, but one our volunteers got a generous rich benefactor to pay for admission. Two caveats: we had to find our own way there-no staff on site on weekends or holidays, so we couldn't have them drive us there-and we were at Morikami as a Zen meditation thing, so we weren't allowed to talk to one another. We'd walk, then our benifactress would stop at intervals to read from a book on Zen Buddhism. Only four of us went: me, Maureen (she works at a hot yoga studio and has a pet parrot that lives in her room), Charlene, and my roommate Kathy. Maureen took me and Kathy in her car, Charlene went in hers.

After the trek, we made a stop in their gift shop-I bought a book dispelling the myths of the samurai and the ninja-before we made a stop at their restaurant, where our kind guide paid for all of our meals.

I had a good time, but, tbh, I think next time, I'm going by myself

-psyche

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!