Score your own free
diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2019-12-26 - 12:34 pm

Dear readers:

Happy belated holidays!

My roommate Kathy and I, having no family nearby to visit, decided to celebrate the holiday season by going to the Sawgrass Mills, Florida's biggest outlet mall. Kathy wanted to go to Macy's in there and get a new purse. Except the Palm Tran doesn't have service on major holidays. And Sawgrass Mills is Broward County.

But the Tri-Rail is open. Unfortunately, the nearest Tri-Rail station is underneath my old high school and it's miles away. Kathy has a car, but not only is it so filled with crap only she can drive in it, but also she doesn't like to drive very far. I can't put her in my bike's basket-Kathy's a rather portly woman anyway-so we walked to the train station. A morbidly obese middle-aged former high school teacher with leg problems and an unemployed Goth chick in her mid-thirties with sciatica. Oh joy.

Luckily, a wild cab appeared halfway there and took us to the station. Unfortunately, Sawgrass Mills was closed that day, so we had to change plans. The plan was dinner and a movie, but there was nothing we wanted wanted to see at the theatres, so we found an inexpensive place on Las Olas Boulevard called The Floridian and we ate well.

I'm glad we did. Turns out, Christmas dinner was a bust, too. Miss Val had been going off this week about this benefactress who missed having people around her for Christmas and wanted to spread the joy. I assumed that meant she was coming over with food, but in reality, the lady dumped off some shitty party trays from Publix, along with a frozen turkey, the day before. Glad we weren't there to see the argument over who would cook it.

We came home around seven at night. We had a good day.

-psyche

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!