Score your own free
diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries

2019-12-28 - 2:53 pm

Dear readers-

Monica got hit by a car last night.

She's one of the ladies I live with at Burckle Place, this tiny, laconic Puerto Rican girl. Kathy plays dominoes with her on a regular basis. Me, Monica, Kathy and Maureen decided to split the cost of two small Domino's pizzas. Monica apparently didn't have any money on her, so decided to go to the bank.

Someone hit Monica. I found this out when one of the ladies from Burckle West-where you have the option to go after you leave here, if they have room, it's right behind us-ran the front door. Nobody that lives here *ever* rings the front door. She came to tell us Monica got hit. Then I saw Kathy crying.

Now, my roommate is a very tough woman. She was an ESE teacher. Worked as a guard at a prison. Said something about working at a psychiatric hospital at some point. Both her mother and grandmother were bipolar, and it sounds like she got the brunt of it growing up, but fortunately didn't inherit it. Was in an abusive relationship. Works at what sounds like the shittiest non-profit known to man, judging by her rants. I've only seen her cry a handful of times, so I figured it was serious.

Fortunately, Monica isn't dead. She just broke her leg.

Today, I got called out by Kathy for being insensitive. I somehow managed to lock myself out of my Amazon account, forcing me to call that stupid fucking 800 number to get it unlocked, only to find myself unable to. Kathy seemed to think I was more emotional over that than Monica.

But to be honest, and I know some like Kathy might call it callous, but yeah. I was *upset*, but, tbh, I don't feel the need to get all dramatic about it. Monica's still alive, isn't she? She's not my roommate, we barely talk, she has a job that keeps her busy during the day. I have no vested interest in her. Why is Kathy calling me insensitive over this and suggesting I go to a psychiatrist?

-psyche

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!